Home Page

Cotmanhay Junior School

Safe, Happy Learning

Safeguarding Statement

As a school we are strongly committed to safeguarding. All adults working within the school have a responsibility to keep pupils safe and protect them from abuse, and other safeguarding concerns.


All our pupils have a right to be safe and to be treated with respect and dignity. We work efficiently with outside agencies to ensure that this is the case. The safeguarding culture of the school is exercised through the development of respectful, caring and professional relationships between adults and pupils.


Our staff and volunteers exercise a culture of vigilance and undergo regular safeguarding training to ensure that they can identify safeguarding issues and report them immediately.  


The Designated Safeguarding Leads for the school will deal with any safeguarding concerns you have as a matter of urgency. Please don't hesitate to make contact - a delay in reporting could lead to a child being harmed.


The Designated Safeguarding Lead for Cotmanhay Junior School is: Simon Robinson


The Deputy Safeguarding Lead is Hannah Pearson.


Our other trained DSLs are Mark Watson and Charlotte Burton.


Our Designated Safeguarding Link Governor is Ruth Hallam.


If you have concerns about the welfare of a child, you can contact any of the above personnel on


You can also contact the social care team Call Derbyshire on 01629 533190. Out of office hours you can call their emergency number 01629 532600.


It is everyone's duty to help keep children safe.